e-book: Live Electronic Music Composition, Performance, Study

The digital edition of our book Live Electronic Music Composition, Performance, Study is now available on the main online stores.

Live Electronic Music Composition, Performance, Study Edited by Friedemann Sallis, Valentina Bertolani, Jan Burle, Laura Zattra, Routledge, 2018.

On Amazon.com and on Routledge.com


Contents (340 pages)

Part I Composition
1 Dwelling in a field of sonic relationships: ‘Instrument’ and ‘listening’ in an ecosystemic view of live electronics performance (AGOSTINO DI SCIPIO)
2 (the) speaking of characters, musically speaking (CHRIS CHAFE)
3 Collaborating on composition: the role of the musical assistant at IRCAM, CCRMa and CSC (LAURA ZATTRA)

Part II Performance
4 Alvise Vidolin interviewed by Laura Zattra: the role of the computer music designers in composition and performance (LAURA ZATTRA)
5 Instrumentalists on solo works with live electronics: towards a contemporary form of chamber music? (FRANçOIS-XAVIER FERON AND GUILLAUME BOUTARD)
6 Approaches to notation in music for piano and live electronics: the performer’s perspective (XENIA PESTOVA)
7 Encounterpoint: the ungainly instrument as co-performer (JOHN GRANZOW)
8 robotic musicianship in live improvisation involving humans and machines (GEORGE TZANETAKIS)

Part III Study
9 authorship and performance tradition in the age of technology (with examples from the performance history of works by Luigi Nono, Luciano Berio and Karlheinz Stockhausen) (ANGELA IDA DE BENEDICTIS)
10 (absent) authors, texts and technologies: ethnographic pathways and compositional practices (NICOLA SCALDAFERRI)
11 Computer-supported analysis of religious chant (DANIEL BIRó AND GEORGE TZANETAKIS)
12 Fixing the fugitive: a case study in spectral transcription of Luigi Nono’s A Pierre. Dell’azzurro silenzio, inquietum. À più cori for contrabass flute in G, contrabass clarinet in B flat and live electronics (1985) (JAN BURLE)
13 a spectral examination of Luigi Nono’s A Pierre.  Dell’azzurro silenzio, inquietum (1985) (FRIEDEMANN SALLIS)
14 Experiencing music as strong works or as games: the examination of learning processes in the production and reception of live electronic music (VINCENT TIFFON)

During the twentieth century, electronic technology enabled the explosive development of new tools for the production, performance, dissemination and conservation of music. The era of the mechanical reproduction of music has, rather ironically, opened up new perspectives, which have contributed to the revitalisation of the performer’s role and the concept of music as performance. This book examines questions related to music that cannot be set in conventional notation, reporting and reflecting on current research and creative practice primarily in live electronic music. It studies compositions for which the musical text is problematic, that is, non-existent, incomplete, insufficiently precise or transmitted in a nontraditional format. Thus, at the core of this project is an absence. The objects of study lack a reliably precise graphical representation of the work as the composer or the composer/performer conceived or imagined it. How do we compose, perform and study music that cannot be set in conventional notation? The authors of this book examine this problem from the complementary perspectives of the composer, the performer, the musical assistant, the audio engineer, the computer scientist and the musicologist.

Friedemann Sallis is Professor and Director of Graduate Studies in the Music Department at the University of Calgary, Canada.
Valentina Bertolani is currently pursuing a PhD in musicology at the University of Calgary, Canada.
Jan Burle is a scientist at Jülich Centre for Neutron Science, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Outstation at MLZ in Garching, Germany.
Laura Zattra is a Research Fellow at Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM) in Paris, France.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s